Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Synopsis

Catherine was just a girl who wanted to fall in love. She may be a favourite of the King of Hearts and one of the most desired girls in Wonderland. But she is a talented baker and all she wants is to open a bakery with her best friend. But her mother wants her to be the next Queen of Hearts.

Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and enigmatic court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the possibility of insulting the king and enraging her parents, she and Jest enter into a passionate, secret courtship. Cath is resolute to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land flourishing with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

A heart-breaking story of the infamous Queen of Hearts – the terror of Wonderland.

My Take

This was my first time with a fairy retelling. And OH MY GOD!!! I love love loved it!!! I just finished reading it a few hours back and my heart is still in the Kingdom of Hearts. Would you believe that I have been pacing around my house thinking about the book? I couldn’t wait to review the book. There are a few other reviews pending. But this one had to be written right now.

I really want to read Alice in Wonderland. I am sure my perspective is going to change. I wonder whether the Queen will have my heart.

When I started the book, I felt it was a bit slow and dragging. I mean I started to think I don’t want to read about tarts and macaroons and baking. But oh boy! How wrong I was!

Marissa Meyer is an excellent story teller. The way she has crafted the story with all the minute details is so marvelous. I am still in awe of how the story developed. Of course, I knew how the story was going to end. But that didn’t make one bit of a difference in how I enjoyed the book.

I literally lived through Cath’s passion for baking, her friendship, her love, her despair and even her heartbreak. I keep wondering whether I would have made the same choice that Cath did. I really don’t know. I can’t remember the last book I read which made me think about the choice I would make if I was in the character’s shoes. Now that says a lot about the book and the impact it has had on me.

When I am back from my vacation, I am definitely reading The Lunar Chronicles. I can’t wait to find out what it has in store.

My Rating

Definitely one of my top reads of the year. I am loving how the year is progressing for me in terms of books. I wish I could give a rating of 10 out of 5. That is how much I loved the book. You should definitely read it.

Get the Book

If you have a library, borrow the book and start reading. Else, order the book right now from Book DepositoryeBooks, Amazon.com or Amazon.in

 

Visit Monde Books for more bookish content.

Leave a comment